Spirit of Niagara

Nomination Form – 2019 Awards

Please return to the Chamber of Commerce by 5 pm December 19, 2019.

General Guidelines

  1. Niagara-on-the-Lake residents, businesses operating within the municipal boundaries of the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake and/or members of the Chamber of Commerce are eligible for nomination.
  2. A business or individual may be nominated for one or more awards.
  3. A nomination form must be accompanied by the nominee’s profile and a statement providing information for judging each category entered.
  4. The committee shall select those who best qualify for each category from the submitted nominations.
  5. Awards will be presented at a social evening on March 3, 2020 at the brand new Ravine Vineyard Event Centre.

Tickets will be available for this event::

  1. Reserved Table of 10, $400
  2. Individual tickets, $40 each
  3. Sponsorship (includes table of ten), $500

About the Nominee

About the Nominator

Nominating For...
Check all that apply.

Celia Liu Award for Excellence in Hospitality
Christopher Newton Award for Extraordinary Vision in Business
Company of the Year Award
Chamber of Commerce Community Leadership Award
Peter Ling Award presented to the Entrepreneur of the Year
Lord Mayor’s Award of Excellence Presented to the Citizen of the Year 

Description of Awards and Previous Winners

Celia Liu Award for Excellence in Hospitality

A new award in remembrance of one of our Town's most highly regarded innkeepers, Celia Liu: a member of many Chamber Board committees and a driving force behind the energy that raised the profile of Niagara-on-the-Lake to be recognized as the #1 Wine and Culinary Destination in Canada, among multiple other rave reviews.

Awarded to an individual, group or business that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to delivering excellence in hospitality. This will be proven over multiple years, with a positive, unifying influence on various sectors of our community. Let's remember Celia's incredible countless contributions to Niagara-on-the-Lake

  • 2018 Winner, Mark Torrance
  • 2017 Winner, Craig Youdale
  • 2016 winner, Richard Reid
  • 2015 winner, Vintage Hotels
  • 2014 Winner, Del Rollo
Christopher Newton Award for Extraordinary Vision in Business

Awarded to a business, group or individual whose awareness of market trends and unique approach to marketing demonstrates a commitment to the industry and long-term vision. Generally, their support of community projects is indicative of excellent corporate citizenship.
  • 2018 winner, Alfred Dyck, All Green Irrigation, St David's Cold Storage
  • 2017 winner, Atis Bankas, Music Niagara
  • 2016 winner, Trisha Romance
  • 2015 winner, George Wakil, posthumous award presented to the Wakil family and White Oaks Resort
  • 2014 winner, Dave Jones, 124 on King
  • 2013 winner, Vintage Hotels
  • 2012 winner, Hunter Farms
  • 2011 winner, Niagara District Airport
  • 2010 winner, Mike Williscraft, Niagara This Week
  • 2009 winner, Balance Fitness Studio
  • 2008 winner, John Marynissen, Marynissen Winery
  • 2007 winner, Rainer Hummel, Hummel Group of Companies
  • 2006 winner; Sue Murray, Niagara’s Finest Inns
  • 2005 winner; John Weins of Riverbend Inn & Vineyards/Klaus Reif of Reif Estate Winery
  • 2004 winner, The Wineries of Niagara-on-the-Lake Marketing Group
  • 2003 winner, Joseph Pohorly-Joseph’s Estate Wines
  • 2002 winner, Donald Triggs of Jackson-Triggs Estate Winery

Company of the Year Award

Awarded to a business that has made a significant impact on its industry by demonstrating outstanding growth and development. The nominee should be considered to be a leader in the community. The business will not necessarily have been in business for a long time, but is actively involved in the community and demonstrates its good corporate citizenship.
  • 2018 winner, Two Sisters Vineyards
  • 2017 winner, Penner’s
  • 2016 winner, Southbrook Winery
  • 2015 winner, Pillitteri Estate Winery
  • 2014 winner, Niagara Patient Transfer
  • 2013 winner, Shaw Festival
  • 2012 winner, Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery and Restaurant
  • 2011 winner, Niagara's Finest Inns
  • 2010 winner, Niagara Motors
  • 2009 winner, Meridian Credit Union
  • 2008 winner, St Davids Hydroponics
  • 2007 winner, The Club at White Oaks
  • 2006 winner; Shaw Festival
  • 2005 winner; Grape Growers of Ontario
  • 2004 winner, White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
  • 2003 winner, Newville Candles
  • 2002 winner, Regal Florist & Garden Centre

Chamber of Commerce Community Leadership Award

Awarded to a business, group or individual that has made an outstanding contribution to the community, large or small, within the last year or who has shown continuous community spirit over a number of years.
  • 2018 winner, Bob Mavridis, Cork's and Orzo Restaurants
  • 2017 winner, Doug Coles and Doug Nolan, Town employees
  • 2016 winner, Vintage Hotels and Parks Canada skating rink partnership
  • 2015 winner, Virgil Business Association
  • 2014 winner, CARE
  • 2013 winner, Donna Scott and Jim Garrett
  • 2012 winner, The Niagara Foundation
  • 2011 winner, Stan Harrington and Daymon Raso
  • 2010 winner, John Wiens & the Community Centre Fundraising Team
  • 2009 winner, Niagara-on-the-Lake Volunteer Firefighters
  • 2008 winner, Niagara-on-the-Lake Family Health Team
  • 2007 winner, Niagara Classic Cars
  • 2006 winner; Friends of the Film Festival
  • 2005 winner; Heritage Designation Committee
  • 2004 winner, Niagara College
  • 2003 winner, Physician Recruitment Committee (Mr. Greg Berti)
  • 2002 winner, Laura Dodson

Peter Ling Award presented to the Entrepreneur of the Year

Awarded to an individual or a group that has shown initiative and/or innovation in a business venture or project. Business need not operate year ‘round.
  • 2018 winner, The Outlet Collection at Niagara
  • 2017 winner, Tim Balasiuk, Paddle Niagara
  • 2016 winner, NEOB Lavender
  • 2015 winner, Josh Bice, Bice Builders
  • 2014 winner, Oast House
  • 2013 winner, Doug Johnson
  • 2012 winner, Sean Simpson
  • 2011 winner, Original Icewine Festival Committee – Greg Berti, Hillebrand
  • 2010 winner, Frog Pond Winery
  • 2009 winner, Paul Dickson, Irish Design
  • 2008 winner, Catherine O’Donnell, Willow Cakes & Pastries
  • 2007 winner, Ruth Anne and Kirk Schreifer, the Pie Plate
  • 2006 winner; Jane Langdon, Wine Country Cooking School
  • 2005 winner; John Kinney, Whirlpool Jet Boat Tours
  • 2004 winner, Tony Hendriks-Hendriks Valu Mart
  • 2003 winner, Stephanie & Justine Lakeit-Caroline Cellars
  • 2002 winner, Kevin Neufeld-Beau Chapeau Hat Shop

Lord Mayor’s Award of Excellence Presented to the Citizen of the Year

Awarded in acknowledgement of an individual’s lifetime achievements and vast contributions to the community that make Niagara-on-the-Lake a terrific place in which to live and do business. This award recognizes long term achievements and contributions to the community.
  • 2018 winner, Rainer Hummel
  • 2017 winner, Austin Kirkby
  • 2016 winner, Christopher Newton
  • 2015 winner, Janice Thomson
  • 2014 winner, Steffanie Bjorgan
  • 2013 winner, Joe Pillitteri
  • 2012 winner, Dr Wes Turner and Dr Richard Merritt
  • 2011 winner, Mary Snider
  • 2010 winner, Gary Burroughs
  • 2009 winner, Dan Patterson
  • 2008 winner, John Peller
  • 2007 winner, Joy Ormsby
  • 2006 winner; Mrs Laura Dodson
  • 2005 winner; Mr. and Mrs. Paul Bosc
  • 2004 winner, Vintage Inns
  • 2003 winner, Niagara Credit Union Arena Fundraising Committee:
    • Jill Barber
    • Jack Bell
    • Wally Bogusat
    • Jim Collard
    • Mark Edwards
    • Al Janzen
    • Ward Simpson
    • Richard Wall
    • Rob Weier
    • John Wiens
  • 2002 winner, Robert Allen